Spiking an article from a desk means that the article is no longer part of the desk workflow. It’s a soft deletion. In most cases once an item is spiked, it can be unspiked. It’s similar to putting an item in the trash bin/recycle bin on your computer.
You can view the items that have been spiked from your desk by clicking on the trash icon in the Workspace Panel.
From there, you can unspike items if you wish. Click on the item and then select Unspike Item from the action menu. When you unspike an item, it will return to the Desk and Stage from which it was spiked.