Follow

Making a new blog and adjusting blog configuration

Creating a New Blog

Administrators and Editors can create new blogs from main Blog List view. The reasons that you might want to create a new blog include starting to write about a new topic or you want to collaborate with a different team of people.

l-quickcreateblogcontext.png

Click the CREATE BLOG button in the top right corner of the Live Blog interface.

Clicking on the CREATE BLOG button will open a new window where you can specify the details for your new blog.

      

In the Details tab of the Create New Blog window, you will need to give your new blog a title in the BLOG TITLE text box. Filling in the BLOG DESCRIPTION and adding a blog image are optional, but recommended. The blog image minimum resolution should be 320x240 pixels.

When you click in the BLOG DESCRIPTION text box, you will see a toolbar which will allow you to add formatting to your blog description if you wish. From left to right: bold, italic, underline, strike-through, numbered list or bulleted list.

You will not be able to save your blog until you give it a name in the blog title text box.

Clicking on the NEXT button will take you to the Team tab.

The Team tab of the Create New Blog window is where you can give other users permission to access and contribute to your blog. You can always add more users later in the individual blog settings. To search for users, type their names in the search bar of the Teams tab.

Once you click the CREATE button, your blog will be active and ready to be filled with content.

You will see your newly created blog at the top of the Blog List view in the Active Blogs tab.

 

More Blog Settings

When you click the + CREATE BLOG blog button in the top right of the Blog List view, you will be prompted to name your new Blog and confirm some basic settings. Once you’ve entered your Blog details, hit the CREATE button to confirm your choices. The new blog will automatically open in the Editor mode, once you’ve created it.

After your Blog has been created, you can adjust your settings choices by clicking on the gear icon at the top of the Timeline view of your selected Blog.

Once you’ve clicked on the gear icon, you will see two tabs, on the left side of the blog settings interface; one for General and one for Team.

Clicking on the Team tab will allow you to add or remove users from your blog.

If you decide to change any settings, you can confirm your changes in the top right corner by clicking on the SAVE button or the DONE button. The SAVE button will leave you on the Settings tab. The DONE button will navigate you back to the Editor / Timeline view.

If you choose not to save your changes, click the CANCEL button, a window will open prompting you to confirm that you wish to discard the changes that you’ve made.

More details on each individual Blog setting is provided below:

 

Blog Status

The first setting in the General tab is for Blog Status. This blue toggle will allow you to archive the blog. Archived Blogs cannot be updated with new content. Once archived, the Blog will no longer appear in the Active Blogs tab of the Blog List view.

If you set the Blog status to Archived, you will only be able to view the Blog in the Archived Blogs tab. When you click on the Archived blog, you will see that you need to change the status to Active in order to be able to update the Blog. Clicking on the change the blog status link will bring you back to the Blog settings window, where you can adjust the toggle back to the Active setting.

 

Blog Title

The Blog Title is what your readers will see at the top of your Blog. You can change your Blog Title at any time in the Blog Settings menu.

 

Blog Image

The Blog Image is a great way to make navigation of the Blog List view easy when using the grid view. Depending on your choice of Theme, the Blog Image may or may not appear at the top of your Live view.

If you didn’t already, you can add an image to your blog by clicking the UPLOAD IMAGE button.

If you added an image in your original blog set-up, you can choose a new image by clicking on the CHANGE button, or delete the image without replacing it by clicking on the REMOVE button.

 

Blog Description

Your Blog Description can be visible to your readers on the Live view, just below the Blog Title if you have it enabled in your Theme settings.

Type your Blog Description in the text box provided.

When you click inside the Blog Description text box, a toolbar will appear with formatting options. From left to right: bold, italic, underline, strike-through, numbered list and bulleted list. To add text formatting, type your text first, then highlight the text you wish to alter and click on the formatting button that you would like to add. To add a numbered or bulleted list, click on the appropriate button first, then the bullets will appear automatically on each new line. If you change your mind, click the button again to remove the formatting.

 

Theme

Your Blog Theme affect how your Blog looks to the readers. You can create new Themes from the Theme Manager section of the Settings menu.

Choosing a different Theme can affect blog settings such as the default display language, whether or not readers are allowed to submit comments, and whether or not the Blog Image is visible to the reader.

 

Embed Height

You can switch the embed code between between normal and responsive. The first option generates a standard iframe where you can set the width and height manually. The responsive embed code includes a javascript which will automatically adjust the height of the iframe depending on the length of the original material.

 

Embed Code

You can view the current HTML Embed Code within the text box. If you are familiar with HTML you can edit the Embed Code here.

Clicking on the link below the text box will let you view your blog as it currently appears to readers.

 

Remove Blog

You can permanently delete the blog using this REMOVE BLOG button.

If you click on the remove Blog button, a window will appear asking you to confirm your desire to delete the Blog. Once a Blog is deleted in this manner it cannot be recovered. If you wish to discontinue Blog updates but save the content, you can set the Blog Status to Archived instead of deleting it.  

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.