The admin functions can be accessed from the Settings menu, found in the upper-left corner of your Superdesk interface.
From the Settings menu, you are able to add new users, configure and create desks, customize your monitoring and ingest settings.
The Master Desk menu item provides you with an overview of the content, users and tasks associated with every topic desk. The Master Desk gives an overview of all the topic desks, all in one place. Not all users will have access to the Master Desk, only users with the appropriate permissions will be able to see it.
You are able to navigate between different desk information by clicking the CONTENT,TASKS, USERS or SLUGLINES buttons at the top of the Master Desk window. The CONTENT filter gives an overview of all the articles that are currently in the desks, regardless of the stage. The SLUGLINES filter shows published Sluglines for each topic desk.
The USERS filter option shows users that are assigned to each topic desk. Users are arranged by role within the Master Desk; for example Bureau Chief, Producer, Reporter, etc. The USERS filter also includes a checkbox to view only users that are currently logged in to Superdesk.
Each desk also has an Action menu, which allows you to change the stages, users and desk information. Click the Action menu and select Edit Desk to configure the Desk settings.
If you are assigned to a topic desk that you are currently viewing in the Master Desk view, you will see a pop-out icon beside the desk title. Clicking on this pop-out Open Desk Content icon will take you out of the Master Desk view and back into the Superdesk Workspace of the topic desk you just clicked on.
When you click the Action menu and select edit desk, a new window will open. Under the General Settings tab, you will find the following information to edit:
DESK NAME allows you to change the name of the selected topic desk. This is the name all users within Superdesk will see.
DESK DESCRIPTION provides information to other users about the topic desk.
The SOURCE FOR USER CREATED ARTICLES field is used to populate the Source field in every article created in that topic desk. The text that you input in the SOURCE FOR USER CREATED ARTICLES textbox will appear in the metadata for all the articles produced from this topic desk.
CONTENT EXPIRY sets the amount of time before any item is sent to the Archive. Archived items can no longer be seen in a topic desk but can still be found through Search tab.
DESK TYPE can be set to either authoring or production. An authoring desk generally only produces content but does not publish it directly. These tags allow users to search through content that has been created at an authoring desk.
In the Edit Desk window, you will also find a Stages tab. Stages are the steps an article must go through in order to be published. For example, an article might go through more than one phase of editing before it is sent off to be published. From this Stages tab you can make new stages to a Desk by clicking the Create icon:
You can edit the current stages by hovering over the stage you wish to edit and clicking the pencil icon that appears to the right of the stage name.
The GLOBAL READ toggle allows items that are in this stage to be read by all users. If GLOBAL READ is turned off, only users assigned to the topic desk will be able to see content from that stage. If GLOBAL READ is turned on, the stage will be available for use in any Monitoring view on any topic desk. The WORKING STAGE toggle indicates that any new text or package created in this topic desk will be sent to this stage. If INCOMING STAGE is selected, any item that is fetched to this topic desk will be put into this stage.
The CONTENT EXPIRY can be set to a number of days, hours or minutes to ensure that the most current news is being published. When the content expiry limit is reached, the article will be sent to the Archive and can no longer be accessed from the topic desk directly.
The INCOMING RULE drop-down menu allows for standardized modifications to be made on articles that are being fetched from the Ingest to a desk. This could include modifications like automatically filling in a dateline or an abstract, or converting currencies. These rules are set up in the Macros tab of the Edit Desk window.
In the People tab of the Edit Desk window, you can add or remove users from the topic desk. To add a user, type their name into the searchbar. When you select the name of the person, they will be automatically added to the desk. To remove a user from a topic desk, hover over their user icon and click the x that appears on the top-right section of their User icon.