Spiked items are articles that have been removed from the topic desk workflow.
Spiked items from your topic desk can be viewed by clicking on the Spike icon in the Workspace Panel. Items can be spiked from the Monitoring Window or from your Personal Workspace. Note that when articles from your Personal Workspace are spiked, they are permanently deleted. Articles spiked from your Personal Workspace will never be shown in the Spiked Items tab.
This is the Action menu.
To spike an item, hover over the item and click the Action menu that appears to the right side of the article entry.
From the Action menu, select the Spike Item option. Items can be spiked from any stage. Note that published items cannot be spiked and must be killed instead. Killing an item sends out notifications to all the content subscribers of the published article notifying them that the article has been rescinded.
It is not possible to spike an item that is part of a package. You must first remove the item from the package before you can spike it.
You can search through the spiked items using the article type filter buttons or by clicking on the search icon and typing keywords into the textbox. Spiked items are desk-specific so you will only see items that have been spiked from your current topic desk.
Spiking items from a topic desk is not permanent. If you find an article that you wish to return to the desk workflow, hover over the article in the Spiked items section. The Action menu will appear. From there, you can choose the Unspike Item option. This will return the article to the stage from which it was spiked.